Quick Links

Quick Links

Marina International School




The Cambridge Primary Curriculum Framework provides a comprehensive set of progressive learning objectives for English, Mathematics and Science to prepare students for the Cambridge Primary Checkpoint Examinations at the end of Year 6 in:

  • English Language
  • Mathematics
  • Science

The objectives detail what the learner should know or what they should be able to do in these subjects in each year of the Primary Education. The Cambridge Primary Curriculum is presented in six stages according to Year Group. In each stage, the learner develops thinking skills and encourages intellectual engagement. The Cambridge Assessment International Education (CAIE) incorporates ICT Curriculum as a back-up in its use across the curriculum in English, Math and Science. At the end of Year 6, the Cambridge Primary English Curriculum will test the children in Reading, Writing and Usage. The Mathematics curriculum tests children in Geometry and Measure, Handling Data and Numbers, while the Science curriculum tests children in Biology, Chemistry, Physics and Scientific Enquiry. The Cambridge Curriculum Framework for English, Mathematics and Science provides solid Foundation in which the later stages of Education can be built. In order for a student to gain entry in the High School Form 1 or Year 7, at the end of Year 6, students must score a minimum pass mark in the Cambridge Checkpoint Examinations.


Cambridge Primary Progression Tests have been developed by Cambridge Assessment International Education (CAIE). Who are the tests for?

The tests are for use by teachers to assess the performance and progress of learners in their classes. Stage 1 is the first year of primary education and stage 6 is the final year. Each stage would usually be taught over the course of a year. Progression Tests are available from Stage 3.

What is Tested?

The Cambridge Primary Curriculum frameworks are designed to support the teaching and learning of English, Mathematics and Science. For each subject, the curriculum frameworks are a series of learning objectives for each stage presented in different content areas, or strands. It also forms the basis of what is tested, so questions in the progression tests are linked to the strands and learning objectives.

Language of the tests:

The tests assume proficiency in English but they do not require English to be the learner’s first language. English, Mathematics and Science tests are available at stages 3, 4, 5 and 6. They cover the learning objectives from the relevant stage.


CAIE organises a pretest in English only for Year 6 prior to the Checkpoint Exams. Pretest materials are confidential. Materials are not to be retained, reproduced, copied or shared without the permission of CAIE. The school only uses these for conducting pretests with candidates at your school. All materials are to be returned to Cambridge after the pretests have been taken.


In addition to English, Mathematics and Science, the following subjects are also offered in the school, and these subjects are examinable.

  • French
  • Geography
  • History
  • Information & Communication Technology (ICT)

The focus is to build the foundation of the students entering High School offering French as a foreign language, Humanities and Information & Communication Technology (ICT) at Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE). There are non-academic subjects that are not-examinable but very important. These are:

  • Arts & Craft
  • Music
  • Physical Education (PE)


Marina International High School offers the English National Curriculum and prepares students for the following Cambridge International Examinations:

a. Cambridge Checkpoint:- Form 3 (Year 9).
b. Cambridge International General Certificate of Secondary Education (Cambridge IGCSE): Form 5 (Year 11).
c. Cambridge International Advanced Subsidiary Level (Cambridge International AS Level): Form 6 (Year 12).
d. Cambridge International Advanced Level (Cambridge International A’ Level): Form 7 (Year 13).

The following subjects are mandatory for all students in Forms 1, 2 and 3 (Years 7, 8 and 9):

  • English Language
  •  Literature-In-English
  •  French
  •  Mathematics
  •  Science
  • Humanities (Geography and History)
  • Design and Technology
  • Art and Design
  • Information & Communication Technology (ICT)
  • Music
  • Physical Education (P.E.)
  • Personal Social Health and Economic Education (PSHE)

PSHE is a non-academic subject and is therefore not examinable but very important. It focuses on developing the knowledge, skills, and attributes to keep young people learning and safe and to prepare them for life and work. It also aims to help them develop fully as individuals and as members of families and social economic communities.
Physical Education (P.E.) is also not taken into consideration when categorizing Certificates into 'Distinction' & 'Merit' etc but is graded. As students proceed to Form 4 or Year 10 (the beginning of the IGCSE curriculum proper), they are encouraged to offer a minimum of eight subjects.

In order to qualify for the optional International Certificate of Education (CIE) certificate, students must pass a minimum of seven IGCSE subjects, including at least TWO from group one and (at least) ONE from each of groups 2,3, 4, and 5 respectively as listed below:

A. Group One – Languages

1. English as 1st Language
2. English as 2nd Language
3. French

B. Group Two – Humanities and Social Sciences

1. Economics
2. Sociology
3. Geography
4. History
5. Literature-In-English

Please note that it is compulsory for students who choose English as a 1st Language to do Literature-In-English as well.

C. Group Three – Sciences

1. Biology
2. Chemistry
3. Physics

D. Group Four – Mathematics

1. Mathematics (Core and Extended)
2. Further Mathematics

E. Group Five – Creative, Technical, and Vocational

1. Accounting
2. Art and Design
3. Business Studies
4. Information & Communication Technology (ICT)
4. Design and Technology
6. Physical Education
7. Music

Sixth Form Subject Choices

Students are encouraged to choose ONE SUBJECT from each group even though they will ONLY be allowed to study three subjects, just in case one of their subject choices is not offered due to low numbers.

PHYSICAL EDUCATION is compulsory but not examined. Students must always be in the Library whenever they have a self-study period.

Group A

1. Pure Mathematics
2. History
3. IT
4. French

Group B

1. Biology
2. Geography
3. Business Studies

Group C

1. Chemistry
2. Economics
3. IT

Group D

1. English Literature
2. Physics
3. Art and Design
4. Sociology
5. Accounting